Awards recognise excellence in heritage and design

New award named in honour of Robyn Buchanan

Leaders in preserving Ipswich’s built heritage and design were announced at Ipswich City Council’s Awards for Excellence in heritage and design held on Thursday 9 May 2019.

The ceremony in the Lord Lamington Room at 88 Limestone Street recognised individuals, companies and organisations who are committed to promoting and producing excellence in the design of new developments, the conservation of built heritage, and written history.

The awards continued to attract participants for all aspects of the community with entries received from the owners of a humble family renovator to some of the nation’s largest developments.

Ipswich City Council’s acting general manager of Planning and Regulatory Services Brett Davey congratulated the overall winners from the following categories:

Ron Brown Heritage Memorial Conservation Award:

  • University of Southern Queensland
  • Classic Stone Australia
  • LR Thomas Funeral Directors, and;
  • Alyn Hawkes for the Fleming Crypt Project

Robyn Buchanan History Award:

  • Kate Pitty for The immeasurable Cost WWI: Ipswich Grammar School in The War to End all Wars

Ipswich Heritage Hall of Fame Award:

  • Ivan McDonald, Ipswich Heritage Adviser for almost 20 years and previous judge of the awards

National Trust Ipswich Region Award:

  • The owners of Rhossilli, Dougleen and Brighton Cottage for being open to visitors
  • The owners of Arrochar, Fairy Knoll and Rockton for being open to visitors, and;
  • Best maintained property to the owners of Lakemba and for being open to visitors

Mr Davey said since the last awards the format for 2019 had been revamped with a strong focus on built heritage and design.

“Also this year we have introduced a new history award named in honour of Robyn Buchanan who passed away in 2018.

“Robyn was a well-respected local who did work specialising in history research, writing, editing and publishing.

“In recognition of the significant contribution Robyn made to the city she was one of three inaugural inductees in the Ipswich Heritage Hall of Fame in 2013.”

Mr Davey said the awards reflected council’s commitment to sustainable development and heritage conservation.

“These award-winning projects are examples of the excellent work which continues in the design and construction of new developments and the conservation of heritage places across Ipswich.

“Forward-thinking developers, investors and renovators are doing some really innovative things with new buildings while working out ways to adaptively reuse historic properties,” he said.

The Ipswich City Council Awards for Excellence were launched in 1992 to recognise, promote and reward excellence in the design and construction of new developments and the conservation of heritage places throughout the city and suburbs.

National Trust Ipswich Region Award winners

Completed repairs to Fleming Crypt Ipswich General Cemetery March 2019

Back to top button