Site icon Ipswich First

High calibre nominees for Ipswich Australia Day Awards

2020 Citizen of the Year Amy Hartness

Ipswich City Council has received an impressive response to its 2021 Ipswich Australia Day Awards.

The ceremony, on 20 January, will feature Mayor Teresa Harding and the 2020 Ipswich Citizen of the Year Amy Hartness, a volunteer with the Rural Fire Service since 2004 and with the Ipswich City State Emergency Service since 2003.

The pair will present the 2021 Citizen of the Year award.

Mayor Harding said the calibre of nominations for the 2021 Ipswich Australia Day Awards had been outstanding.

“There is such a high standard across all seven categories,” Mayor Harding said.

“We have had a tough year with the COVID-19 pandemic, but it has not stopped the people of Ipswich stepping up to the plate and demonstrating that quintessential Australian spirit.

“It makes me very proud as Mayor of this wonderful city to see the calibre of people we have in our community going about their everyday roles yet always going above and beyond.”

About 50 nominations were forthcoming for Citizen of the Year, Senior Citizen of the Year, Young Citizen of the Year, Cultural, Spirit, Sport and Recreation, and Community Event of the Year.

Mayor Harding said the awards would be presented with strict COVID-safe protocols in place.

“The event format will be different this year, but there will still be the same high level of nominees, finalists and winners,” she said.

Well-known Queensland author and poet Rupert McCall will MC the event at the North Ipswich Reserve Corporate Centre from 9.30am.

The Welcome to Country and dance will be by Nunukul Yuggera Aboriginal Dance Company, with the national anthem performed by local duo Ally and Sarah.

Domestic violence campaigner and chairwoman of the Allison Baden-Clay Foundation Vanessa Fowler, the 2019 Ipswich Citizen of the Year, will be the guest speaker.

Deputy Mayor Marnie Doyle, fellow councillors and 2020 award winners will be on hand to present this year’s prizes.

For further information and the full list of nominees:


Read More

Local news and info to your inbox

Exit mobile version