Site icon Ipswich First

Local legends in running for 2021 Ipswich Sports Awards

Dozens of athletes, coaches, officials and volunteers are in the running for $2,000 in prize money as Council recognises outstanding contributions to community competitions in the 2021 Ipswich Sports Awards.

The eight awards categories will see gongs go to juniors, seniors and off-field contributors alike at a gala ceremony on 29 October.

Mayor Teresa Harding thanked all nominees for their dedication to grassroots sport during both a challenging and exciting time for Ipswich athletes.

“Our city is Queensland’s sporting heartland, and our dedicated sportspeople and administrators have built the community culture that makes Ipswich such a great place to play,” Mayor Harding said.

“It is important to celebrate the community’s strength and resilience, and this year’s finalists are representing an incredible range of sports and codes from long distance running, figure ice skating and swimming to touch football, rifle shooting and karting.

“Council is committed to supporting local sporting clubs and delivering high-quality facilities right across the city as we prepare to welcome and nurture world-class athletes for the 2032 Olympics and Paralympics.”

Community, Culture, Arts and Sport Committee chair Councillor Andrew Fechner said the shortlist recognises the breadth and talent of the local sporting community from its youngest participants to its seasoned veterans.

“These special people, teams, and organisations help make Ipswich community sport more fun, inclusive, and able to nourish world-beating athletes,” Cr Fechner said.

“All finalists should be rightly proud of their achievements, especially while community sport continues to operate under COVID-19 health restrictions.”

The awards acknowledge the athletes and sporting community who have rallied together and persevered in the most testing of circumstances.

For more information on the Ipswich Sports Awards visit:

Official of the Year – finalists:
Gabrielle Ticehurst
Jordan Harton
Ky Knight 

Volunteer of the Year – finalists:
Amanda Hollis
Anne O’Donnell
John Hislop
Jono Gibbs
June Nicholls
Kerri Brown
Scott Morrison
Tanya Thompson 

Coach of the Year – finalists:
Greg Bulow
Rebecca Ungermann
Sara Rogers 

Masters Sportsperson of the Year – finalists:
Chris Scanlan
Jessica Cashman
Lisa Blackburn

Sporting Organisation of the Year – finalists:
Cricket Ipswich
Ipswich and West Moreton BMX Club
Ipswich Hockey Association
Ipswich Kart Club
Rugby League Ipswich 

Team of the Year – finalists:
Collingwood Park Power Senior Men
Ipswich Hockey Masters Women
Ipswich Softball Open Women
Ipswich Falcons U12 Boys 

Junior Sportsperson Award – finalists:
Alisha Boge
Charlize Goody
Darcy Smith
Ella Ramsay
Harmony Nuku
Holly McQueen
Jeriah Vagana
Poppy Wilson
Sabbath Smrecnik
Shalom Sauaso
Shaylen Lowe

Senior Sportsperson Award – finalists:
Clay Dawson
Jake Notley
Jude Thomas
Karine Harumi Moromizato
Martin Manning
Zac Profke

Local news and info to your inbox

Exit mobile version