Christmas closures are coming. Here’s everything you need to know about bins, books and the in between.


The Ipswich Central, Redbank Plains and Redbank Plaza libraries will close at 1pm on Friday, 22 December, while the mobile service will close at 11.30am that day. The branches will reopen at 9am (Ipswich Central and mobile service), 11am (Redbank Plains) and 1pm (Redbank Plaza) on Tuesday, 2 January. Overdues will not accrue during the closures. For more information go here.

Ipswich Art Gallery

Ipswich Art Gallery will close for Christmas on Monday, 25 December and Tuesday, 26 December. The d’Arcy Doyle Place venue will reopen at 10am on Wednesday, 27 December before closing for New Year’s Day on Monday, 1 January. For more information go here.

Ipswich Civic Centre

Ipswich Civic Centre will close at 1pm on Friday, 22 December, reopening at 8am on Monday, 15 January. For more info go here.


The Queens Park Nursery at Goleby Avenue will close on Saturday, 23 December, resuming normal hours on Wednesday, 3 January. The Goodna mobile nursery at the corner of Church and Queen streets will be closed on Wednesday, 27 December, reopening on Wednesday, 3 January. For more go here.

Ipswich Waste Services

Wheelie bin collection services will remain unchanged during the Christmas holidays. General, recycling and green waste collection will continue with the only change being the closure of the city’s recycling and refuse centres on Christmas Day. The centres at Riverview and Rosewood will be open all other days as normal, from 8am to 6pm. For more information go here.

Swim centres

Ipswich swim centres will be closed on Christmas Day but will remain open all other days. Orion Lagoon at Springfield Central will be open every day including Christmas Day. The lagoon will be open until 10pm on New Year’s Eve, with fireworks set for 9pm. Opening hours for swim centres at Bundamba, Goodna, Leichhardt and Rosewood are as follows:

  • Sunday, 24 December: Normal hours
  • Monday, 25 December: Closed
  • Tuesday, 26 December: 10am to 4pm
  • Wednesday, 27 December to Sunday, 31 December: Normal hours
  • Monday, 1 January: 10am to 4pm
  • Tuesday, 2 January: Normal hours
  • Friday, 26 January: 10am to 4pm

Normal opening hours vary according to location. For more info go here.

Get more on council places, programs and plans.