Ipswich Sports Awards finalists announced

Dozens of athletes, coaches and volunteers have been shortlisted for the 2020 Ipswich Sports Awards to recognise their contribution to sport.

Council received more than 60 nominations for sports people and teams in categories including Junior Sportsperson, Senior Sportsperson, Volunteer and Coach of the year.

Mayor Teresa Harding congratulated all finalists and said the quality of nominations was outstanding.

“Ipswich has an enviable sporting history with success across a wide range of different sports, as seen in this year’s finalists who have excelled in their fields in every sport from netball to rugby union to athletics, swimming and baseball,” Mayor Harding said.

“The Ipswich Sports Awards is a great opportunity to highlight the dedication and passion of those who contribute to our vibrant sporting community, including the players, coaches, volunteers and officials.

“Every one of our finalists should be proud of what they have achieved, particularly while remaining committed to their codes and supporting their teammates through challenging times caused by COVID-19.

“Council is committed to supporting local sporting clubs and delivering high-quality facilities right across the city.”


The finalists for each category are:

Official of the Year

Bayden Sawyers
Gabrielle Ticehurst
Jordan Harton

Volunteer of the Year

Scott Morrison
Sheridan Victor
Anne O’Donnell
Daniel Thomas
Catharina Slot

Coach of the Year

Nicole Grant
Peter Reeves
Claudia Murray
Stacey Taurima

Masters Sportsperson of the Year

Clay Dawson
Simon Knechtli
Matthew Pascoe
Derek Murray

Sporting Organisation of the Year

Ipswich Rugby Union
Ipswich and District Rifle Club
Agility Dog Club of QLD

Team of the Year

Ipswich Flyers
NANCI Running Squad
Musketeers Women’s Baseball
Ipswich Eagles Women’s AFL
Ipswich Futsal U15 Girls

Junior Sportsperson Award

Mercedes Siganto
Poppy Wilson
Charlize Goody
Faits Faitala Snr Tupai
Shaylen Lowe
Merrick Small
Blake Murray
Mark Woodward
Ella Macartney
Alisha Boge

Senior Sportsperson Award

Brian Hansen
Clay Dawson
Matthew Pascoe
Joshua Routledge
Jarrod Harvey
Allira Toby

Winners will be announced at an awards dinner on Friday, 6 November.

For more information on the Ipswich Sports Awards, visit council’s website.

Read more: 

>>> Serving up more tennis at Springfield Central Tennis courts

>>> Ipswich footballers have sights set on 2023 World Cup

>>> Ipswich netball players at top of their game

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button