It’s official! Ipswich Sports Awards finalists announced

It’s official! The 2023 finalists have been announced across all eight categories of this year’s Ipswich Sports Awards.

Ipswich City Council Community, Culture, Arts and Sport Committee Chairperson, Councillor Andrew Fechner said the quality and number of nominations grow each year.

“Sport helps keep people active, healthy, and connected to the community and it’s important we recognise the volunteers, officials, players, and organisations that make this possible,” Cr Fechner said.

“Across Ipswich, participation in grassroots sport is growing with more kids, teenagers, and adults than ever on local fields, courts, tracks, and pools.

“At the representative and elite level, our city continues to punch above its weight producing athletes and teams that make us proud.

“Now in their fourteenth year, the Ipswich Sports Awards are our opportunity to celebrate sport at every level.”

Council maintains more than 360 community sporting fields, recreation spaces and courts at an annual operating cost of $6 million.

In the 2023-2024 Budget, council has committed a total of $6.4 million to upgrading sporting facilities across the city and is determined to continue providing Ipswich with world-class facilities such as Springfield Central and Silver Jubilee sports fields.

Finalists for 2023 Ipswich Sports Awards are:

Coach of the Year

  • Stephen Ballhause – Swimming
  • Blair Drabble – Athletics
  • Leanne Farrell-Thomas – Triathlon
  • Tom Harris – Swimming
  • Ian Snodgrass – Cycling
  • Nicholas Such – Wheelchair Basketball

Volunteer of the Year

  • Pauline Alchin – Hockey
  • Stacey Champs – Softball
  • Cristelle Mulvogue – Australian Football League
  • Janis Price – Netball
  • Scott Willoughby – Australian Football League

Team of the Year

  • Ipswich Jets Netball Team
  • South East Redbacks 2nd Grade Team – Cricket
  • Thistles Ladies Hockey Club A2 Grade – Hockey
  • U13 Girls Ipswich Futsal – Football
  • U14 Boys Ipswich Force – Basketball

Official of the Year

  • Jordan Harton – Basketball
  • Steve Rogers – Hockey
  • Nicholas Rudzinski – Karting
  • Matthew Wright – Rugby League

Sporting Organisation of the Year

  • Ipswich Grammar Swimming Club
  • South East Redbacks Cricket Club
  • Tigers Softball Club

Masters Sportsperson of the Year

  • Brian Cook – Squash
  • Christopher Davis – Para-archery
  • Clay Dawson – Ultra Marathon
  • Steven Graham – Weightlifting
  • Tim Wichura – Indoor Cricket

Junior Sportsperson of the Year

  • Alisha Boge – Ice Skating
  • Zacharias Carvolth – Swimming
  • Charlize Goody – Athletics
  • Mitchell Harte – Indoor Cricket
  • Isabela Hoyos – Football
  • Bodhi Ikin – Volleyball
  • Holyee-Ann Jackson – BMX Racing
  • Kara Kaufusi – Basketball and Netball
  • Rachel Kaufusi – Basketball and Netball
  • David Onyeogaziri – Basketball
  • Ella Ramsay – Swimming
  • William Stuart – Australian Football League

Senior Sportsperson of the Year

  • Isabella Parisi – Equestrian
  • Jordan Harrold – Ten Pin Bowling
  • Zac Profke – Hockey
  • Nicholas Stallan – Indoor Cricket

Winners of the 2023 Ipswich Sports Awards will be announced at an awards ceremony on Thursday 2 November at Ipswich Civic Centre.

Read also:

>> Active and Healthy Ipswich participation grows

>> Caring for Ipswich’s injured and orphaned wildlife

>> Still time to nominate an Ipswich legend

Local news and info to your inbox

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button