New Ipswich City Council officially sworn in

A new chapter was written last night in the story of one of Queensland’s fastest growing cities, with the swearing in of Ipswich City Council’s mayor and councillors.

Following the Electoral Commissioner for Queensland declaring the results of the 16 March elections, Ipswich’s new council team is:

  • Mayor – Teresa Harding
  • Division 1 Councillors – Jacob Madsen and Pye Augustine
  • Division 2 Councillors – Paul Tully and Nicole Jonic
  • Division 3 Councillors – Marnie Doyle and Andrew Antoniolli
  • Division 4 Councillors – Jim Madden and David Cullen

Mayor Harding, the city’s 51st mayor, commences a second term, with four returning and four newly elected councillors.

“On behalf of all councillors, I want to thank the voters of Ipswich for putting your confidence in us,” Mayor Harding said.

“It is an incredible honour, and also very humbling, to be chosen to represent this city, and I congratulate my fellow councillors on their success.

“The city is growing at an unprecedented rate, and that will continue for the next decade or more. My goal in this second term as Mayor is to build on that growth and prosperity, working with councillors to move the city forward sustainably and to lead Ipswich with honesty and integrity.”

Mayor Harding said the Ipswich economy had boomed in the past four years, breaking through the $12 billion mark, and council would work with the State Government and the Commonwealth Government to secure more funding and investment to complement that growth.

The first meeting of the new council will be held on 11 April, 2024.

Local news and info to your inbox

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button