Where to cast your vote in Ipswich elections this Saturday

Polling day for the 2024 council elections is this Saturday, 16 March. 

Voting is compulsory and 47 polling booths will be open across the four divisions which make up the Ipswich local government area. 

On polling day, booths will be open from 8am to 6pm. 

Early voting is available until today (15 March, 2024), with details available on the Electoral Commission Queensland website.  

Bringing your maroon voter information card that was posted in the mail by the Electoral Commission of Queensland will help speed up the voting process. 

On 16 March, many residents of the Ipswich City Council area will also be voting in the State Government by-election for the seat of Ipswich West.  

Electoral Commissioner Pat Vidgen said voters would be voting for a new State Member of Parliament on the same day they vote for their council representatives. 

Division 1 voting booths

Deebing Heights State School, 81 Rawlings Road, Deebing Heights 

Ripley Central State School, 103 Binnies Road, Ripley   

Grandchester State School, 35 School Road, Grandchester 

Raceview State School Hall, 96 Wildey Street, Raceview 

Whitehill Church of Christ, 219 Whitehill Road, Raceview 

Redbank Plains State School Hall, 39 – 53 School Road, Redbank Plains 

Redbank Plains State High School, Performing Arts Hall, 136 Willow Road, Redbank Plains    

Ripley Valley State Secondary College, Raptor Dome, 18 Parkway Avenue, South Ripley 

Amberley Girl Guides Hut, 21 Wellington Rise, Willowbank   

Amberley District State School Hall, 37 Deebing Creek Road, Yamanto

About Division 1

Division 1 is the largest geographically of the four divisions and amalgamates both rural and urban suburbs. The division covers a geographic catchment of 61,148 ha (611 km2) and is oriented in a east-west direction spanning from Grandchester and Mount Mort in the west to Redbank Plains and White Rock in the east.

The suburbs of Division 1 include Blackstone, Calvert, Deebing Heights, Ebenezer, Flinders View, Goolman, Grandchester, Jeebropilly, Lower Mount Walker, Mount Forbes, Mount Mort, Mount Walker West, Mutdapilly, Peak Crossing, Purga, Raceview, Redbank Plains, Ripley, South Ripley, Swanbank, White Rock, and Willowbank.

Division 2 voting booths

Augusta State School, 60 Brittains Road, Augustine Heights 

Bellbird Park State Secondary College, 2 Alesana Drive, Bellbird Park 

Camira State School Hall, 184-202 Old Logan Road, Camira 

Karate Hall, 83 Old Logan Road, Camira 

St Francis Xavier Primary School Hall, 6 Church Street, Goodna 

Woodcrest State College Auditorium, 38 Nev Smith Drive, Springfield 

Brighton Homes Arena, 16 Eden Station Drive, Springfield Central 

Springfield Lakes State School Hall, 63 Springfield Lakes Boulevard, Springfield Lakes

About Division 2

Division 2 is a mostly urban electorate situated in the eastern end of the City of Ipswich. The division is bounded by the Brisbane River in the north, Brisbane and Logan City boundaries in the southeast, White Rock Spring Mountain Conservation Estate in the south,  Redbank Plains Road and Kruger Parade in the west.

It encompasses the suburbs of Augustine Heights, Bellbird Park, Brookwater, Camira, Carole Park, Gailes, Goodna, Spring Mountain, Springfield, Springfield Central, Springfield Lakes and Redbank. Division 2 wholly includes all suburbs except for Goodna and Redbank with a part of Goodna (west of Stuart Street) contained in Division 3 and an area of Redbank (situated north of Eagle Street and East of Kruger Parade) included in the Division.

Division 3 voting booths

Oasis Church of Christ Bundamba 25 Byrne Street, Bundamba 

Bundamba State School, 221 Brisbane Road, Bundamba 

Collingwood Park State School Hall, 12-16 Burrel Street, Collingwood Park 

Woodlinks State School Woodlinks Way, Collingwood Park 

Ipswich East State School 18 Jacaranda Street, East Ipswich 

St Francis Xavier Primary School Hall 6 Church Street, Goodna 

Ipswich Central State School Hall, 2A Griffith Road, Ipswich 

Leichhardt State School Hall, 72 Samford Road, Leichardt  

Glebe Road Community Kindergarten & Pre-School, 52 Glebe Road, Newtown 

Ipswich Uniting Church Hall, 114 Jacaranda Street, North Booval 

Immaculate Heart Primary School, Chubb Street, Leichardt 

Redbank State School, 9 Brisbane Road, Redbank 

Riverview Community Centre, 138 Old Ipswich Road, Riverview 

Blair State School Cribb Street, Sadliers Crossing 

Silkstone State School Prospect Street, Silkstone 

Ipswich West State School Kennedy Street, West Ipswich 

About Division 3

Division 3 is oriented in a west-east direction with Brisbane Road and the Ipswich train line through its core. In the western extent is Leichhardt and One Mile, with the northern extent largely bound by the Bremer and Brisbane Rivers.

The southern boundary follows Bundamba Creek north of Blackstone, the Cunningham Highway and Redbank Plains Road. The eastern extent is bordered by Goodna Creek, the Ipswich Motorway and Stuart Street. The division includes Basin Pocket, Booval, Bundamba, Coalfalls, Collingwood Park, Dinmore, East Ipswich, Eastern Heights, Ebbw Vale, Goodna (west of Stuart Street), Ipswich, Leichhardt, New Chum, Newtown, North Booval, One Mile, Redbank (excluding houses situated east of Kruger Parade), Riverview, Sadliers Crossing, Silkstone, West Ipswich, Woodend, and Wulkuraka (south of the railway line).

Division 4 voting booths

Brassall Congregational Church Hall, 3 Jellicoe Street, Brassall 

Ipswich State High School Hall, 1 Hunter Street, Brassall 

Churchill State School Hall, Brisbane Street (off Warwick Road), Churchill 

Haigslea State School, 760 Thagoona Haigslea Road, Haigslea 

Karalee State School Hall, 77 Arthur Summervilles Road, Karalee 

Marburg State School, Louisa Street, Marburg 

Ipswich North State School Hall, Lawrence Street, North Ipswich  

Pine Mountain Hall, 840 Pine Mountain Road, Pine Mountain 

St Joseph’s School Hall, 42 Pine Mountain Road, North Ipswich  

Rosewood State School, School Street, Rosewood 

Tivoli State School, 108 Mt Crosby Road, Tivoli 

Walloon State School, 528 Karrabin-Rosewood Road, Walloon 

Amberley District State School Hall, 37 Deebing Creek Road, Yamanto 

About Division 4

Division 4 amalgamates both rural and urban suburbs and contains areas with significant projected growth, such as Marburg and Rosewood. The division covers a geographic catchment of 34,225 ha (342 km2).

The division is oriented in a west-east direction and includes the suburbs of Amberley, Ashwell, Barellan Point, Blacksoil, Brassall, Churchill, Chuwar, Haigslea, Ironbark, Karalee, Karrabin, Lanefield, Marburg, Moores Pocket, Mount Marrow, Muirlea, North Ipswich, North Tivoli, Pine Mountain, Rosewood, Tallegalla, Thagoona, The Bluff, Tivoli, Walloon, Woolshed, Wulkuraka (north of the railway line), and Yamanto.

Not all voting booths have the same level of disability access. Details on disability access are available here 

Local news and info to your inbox

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button