COVID-19 restrictions extended for another week in Ipswich

COVID-19 restrictions will be extended and strengthened in Ipswich and 10 other South East Queensland local government areas for one more week until 6am on Friday, 30 July.

People in the local government areas of Ipswich, Brisbane, Moreton Bay, Logan, Redlands, Sunshine Coast, Noosa, Somerset, Lockyer Valley, Scenic Rim and the Gold Coast must continue to wear masks whenever they leave home.

Masks will now also be required to be worn in all indoor seated, ticketed venues. This includes all stadiums, theatres and cinemas.

Queensland’s border with New South Wales will close from 1am Friday 23 July.

New community vaccination hub in Ipswich CBD

A community vaccination centre opened in the Nicholas Street Precinct earlier this week in the former Harvey Norman showroom that has the capacity to vaccinate up to 1,000 people per day.

Moving from Cribb House Ipswich Hospital, the new spacious vaccination centre has 30 individual pods set up to administer the vaccine.

Ipswich Mayor Teresa Harding said council is committed to supporting the vaccine rollout with council working with Queensland Health to secure this site in the Ipswich CBD.

“Our wonderful doctors, nurses, pharmacists and others across Ipswich are making the vaccination program accessible to the community,” Mayor Harding said.

“It is our priority to support our healthcare workers with more hubs closer to Ipswich residents.

“Given the precinct’s excellent transport links and significantly sized undercover car park, this is a perfect location for residents and ratepayers to come and get your vaccine, do some shopping or visit the library at the same time.”

To book an appointment or register your interest, visit

NSW border closure

A border zone will be put into place, however residents living in the nominated border zone will be able to come into Queensland for a limited range of reasons, including health care, work, education, essential shopping and if they provide care to vulnerable people.

Queenslanders will be able to travel into the New South Wales border zone for similar reasons, but not further than the border zone.

Queensland residents can return from non-border zone locations in New South Wales, but will need to complete 14 days in hotel quarantine.

New South Wales will remain a declared hotspot for four weeks, with a possible earlier review pending the outcome of their current outbreak.

The local government areas and regions in the border zone are Ballina, Bourke, Brewarrina, Broken Hill, Byron, Clarence Valley, Glen Innes Severn, Gwydir, Inverell, Kyogle, Lismore, Moree Plains, Richmond Valley, Tenterfield, Tweed, Unincorporated Far West and Walgett.

Capacity update

Stadiums across the state with a capacity of 20,000 spectators or more will be required to reduce capacity to 75 per cent. Spectators will now be required to wear masks while seated unless consuming food or drink, in addition to current mask wearing requirements.

Density restrictions in South East Queensland will be eased to match current levels in the regions.

This means increased numbers of people will be allowed at weddings, funerals and indoor events.

Queensland Health are asking all Queenslanders to regularly monitor the list of exposure venues on the Queensland Health website and follow the public health advice.

Updated restrictions for South East Queensland can be found here.

Face masks

You must carry a face mask with you at all times. You must wear a face mask at all times when you are outside your home, unless:

  • you are alone in your car or with the members of your household
  • you are eating or drinking
  • you are at your usual workplace and can physically distance from others (except if you work in a public-facing role in a hospitality venue or are a passenger transport operator)
  • you are alone outdoors or exercising alone outdoors with members of your household. If you pass others, you must put on your mask
  • it is unsafe.

There are some other exceptions to wearing face masks, including for children under 12 and people with particular medical conditions or disabilities. If in doubt, wear a face mask.

Symptoms of COVID-19 can range from mild illness to pneumonia.

People with coronavirus may experience symptoms such as:

  • fever
  • coughing
  • sore throat
  • shortness of breath
  • runny nose
  • fatigue
  • diarrhoea
  • vomiting or nausea
  • loss of smell and/or taste

Other symptoms can include muscle or joint pains or loss of appetite.

testing test covid-19

If you have any COVID-19 symptoms, no matter how mild, call your doctor or 13HEALTH (13 43 25 84) and get tested.

COVID-19 Vaccine

Read more about the COVID-19 vaccine.

Local news and info to your inbox

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button